CEO Statement

03

Dear Shareholders, Investors and Colleagues,

Maxim Volkov, Chief Executive Officer, OJSC PhosAgroWe are pleased to present our first annual report for PhosAgro, an overview of what has been an important and successful year for our Company.

Highlights of 2011

2011 was a year full of significant achievements for our Company, and it has left us in a strong position from which we can further accelerate the growth of our business. In July, the Company’s initial public offering successfully raised US$ 565 million, and PhosAgro was admitted to trading on the London Stock Exchange and listed on MICEX and RTS. In December, PhosAgro’s shares were included in the RTS-2 Index, and its GDRs were added to the Dow Jones Islamic Market BRIC Equal Weighted Index. Our successful flotation is a key milestone in the development of our Company, and will allow us to capitalise on the significant growth opportunities that are present in the fertiliser sector, in particular for highly-integrated producers like PhosAgro. We are confident that we can deliver on the expectations of both the market and shareholders.

Market Environment

In 2011, the world’s farmers produced more grain than ever before. Nevertheless, global grain demand has exceeded production in seven of the last twelve years, and stocks still remain at levels below historical averages. In this environment, the demand for soft commodities is likely to continue to support prices, and farmers will be motivated to invest in increasing crop output by putting more nutrients into the ground.

Demand for food continues to grow as the world’s population expands, and economic development in areas like China and India is causing dietary changes that lead to higher grain consumption per capita. At the same time, new sources of demand like biofuels are rapidly emerging, putting further pressure on farmers to maximise crop output, while the amount of arable land per capita declines.

Soft commodity (and fertiliser) prices are not immune to volatility caused by persistent global economic uncertainties, but ultimately the long-term fundamentals prevail - farmers need to produce more food in order to feed the world, and will use fertilisers to achieve this.

Prices for soft commodities at the end of 2011 and in early 2012 have been comfortably above historical averages. The prices for corn and soya bean, crops that particularly benefit from the use of phosphate fertilisers, have been high. We believe that the recent decline in fertiliser prices is purely due to speculative factors, and does not reflect the real economic fundamentals. In fact, demand for fertilisers generally during recent months has remained very strong, and PhosAgro was able to switch to production of NPK fertilisers when MAP/DAP prices fell, enabling us to maintain 100% utilisation of our production capacity.

Our Performance and Strategic Developments

2011 was a record year for PhosAgro in many ways, as we outperformed our key financial and operating targets. Our 2011 financial results reflect the growth delivered by PhosAgro’s sound core strategy, with performance driven by a strong management team. Consolidated revenues increased by 31% year-on-year to RUB 100.5 billion, EBITDA by 73% year-on-year to RUB 35.4 billion and net profit increased by 88% year-on-year to RUB 22.5 billion. PhosAgro’s financial performance in 2011 was primarily influenced by higher prices and increased sales volumes for both phosphate-based and nitrogen-based fertilisers.

We reported a 6% rise in production and sales of phosphate-based fertilisers in 2011, which shows that we have delivered on our strategy of organic growth through increasing the processing volumes of our own phosphate rock for phosphate-based fertilisers like MAP and DAP, as well as for complex NPKs. Our flexible production model enabled us to switch from DAP to NPKs in late 2011 and early 2012, in order to meet changing market demand and to achieve higher margins. This was helped by completion of the modernisation of the 4th production line at Ammophos, as a result of which our annual NPK production capacity has reached 1.7 million tonnes. Our year-on-year production and sales volumes of NPKs increased by 28.5% and 27.3%, respectively.

Capital expenditure in 2011 amounted to RUB 16.8 billion. Throughout the reporting year we continued our modernisation programme at the production facilities of our key subsidiaries, Cherepovetsky Azot and BMF. We also focused on the construction of our new urea plant with an annual production capacity of 500 kt at Cherepovetsky Azot. We expect to complete this project as planned in May-June 2012.

Outlook

Looking ahead, fertiliser demand in 2012 is expected to be buoyed by the planting of record acreage and a favourable product mix, and we believe that PhosAgro’s vertically integrated business will help us to achieve the full benefit of higher prices and minimise the effects of volatility in the prices of key inputs.

World prices for agricultural products are currently at high levels, rising by 5% in the last ten days of January 2012. In addition, the Chinese authorities in 2012 imposed significant restrictions on the export of virtually all phosphate fertilisers, which may also impact world trade and support prices.

Demand for NPK fertilisers remains strong so far in 2012, while production of DAP and MAP fertilisers will be approximately 20% lower in the first half of the year compared to the corresponding period of 2011. We have seen a significant increase in demand for our NPK fertilisers during the year under review, and thanks to our flexible production and sales strategy we expect to increase overall fertiliser production in 2012 compared to 2011.

With PhosAgro’s rich resource base in the Apatit mine, we are also seeking to increase shareholder value over the longer term by developing projects to increase the deep processing of apatite-nepheline ore for products like fluoric salts, in addition to increasing the production of our own phosphate-based fertilisers.

We are confident that our sound business practices and strong growth will enable us to continue to meet the expectations of the market, shareholders and stakeholders. I would also like to take this opportunity to express my gratitude both to our management team and to all of the Company’s employees, who have contributed so significantly to the developments at PhosAgro and to our achievements.



Maxim Volkov

Chief Executive Officer, 
OJSC PhosAgro

Обращение Генерального директора

03

Уважаемые акционеры, инвесторы и коллеги!

Максим Волков Генеральный директор ОАО «ФосАгро»Мы рады представить первый годовой отчет ОАО «ФосАгро» — краткий обзор событий этого важного и успешного для нашей Компании года.

Основные события 2011 года

В 2011 году Компания добилась серьезных успехов и вышла на позиции, которые будут способствовать ее дальнейшему росту. В ходе первичного размещения акций в прошлом июле привлечено 565 млн долларов США, а ценные бумаги Компании были допущены к торгам на Лондонской фондовой бирже и получили листинг на ММВБ и РТС. В декабре акции ОАО «ФосАгро» были включены в Индекс РТС-2, а ГДР — в исламский рыночный индекс Dow Jones для стран БРИК (Dow Jones Islamic Market BRIC Equal Weighted Index). Успешное размещение стало важным этапом в развитии Компании. Благодаря этому шагу мы получили новые возможности для использования существующего на рынке удобрений значительного потенциала роста — особенно для производителей с такой высокой степенью интеграции, как «ФосАгро». Мы уверены в том, что сможем оправдать ожидания как рынка, так и акционеров.

Рыночная конъюнктура

В 2011 году мировые объемы производства зерновых достигли исторического максимума. Но если мы посмотрим на цифры за последние двенадцать лет, то увидим, что в течение семи из них спрос превышал предложение, а запасы зерна до сих пор остаются на уровне ниже средних исторических значений. Высокий спрос на сельхозпродукцию будет поддерживать высокие цены, стимулируя инвестиции в увеличение урожайности зерновых культур с помощью внесения в почву большего количества удобрений.

Спрос на продовольствие продолжает расти, потому что население планеты по-прежнему увеличивается, к тому же экономическое развитие таких стран, как Китай и Индия, привело к серьезным изменениям в рационе питания их жителей. При этом увеличение спроса на биотопливо заставляет сельхозпроизводителей стремиться к дальнейшему увеличению урожайности в связи с сокращением площади пахотных земель на душу населения.

Конечно, цены на сельхозпродукцию, а значит, и на удобрения, подвержены общей нестабильности, вызванной неопределенностью в мировой экономике. Однако на долгосрочные, фундаментальные факторы это не влияет — сельхозпроизводители должны выпускать больше продуктов питания, чтобы удовлетворять потребности растущего мирового населения, что невозможно без использования удобрений.

Цены на сельхозпродукцию в конце 2011 и начале 2012 года оставались стабильно выше средних исторических значений. Это относится к стоимости и кукурузы, и соевых бобов — культур, на урожайности которых наиболее благоприятно сказывается применение фосфорсодержащих удобрений. Таким образом, недавнее снижение цен на удобрения имеет скорее спекулятивный характер, не отражающий фактическую экономическую ситуацию. В целом спрос на удобрения в течение последних месяцев оставался стабильно высоким, и когда цены на аммофос и диаммофос снизились, «ФосАгро» смогло быстро переориентироваться на выпуск комплексных (азотно-фосфорно-калийных) удобрений, сохранив при этом 100%-ную загрузку своих производственных мощностей.

Основные результаты и стратегическое развитие

Для «ФосАгро» 2011 год стал успешным во многих областях: мы превысили основные целевые финансовые и операционные показатели, что стало результатом реализации нашей стратегии и работы сильной команды менеджеров. Консолидированная выручка увеличилась по сравнению с предыдущим годом на 31% до 100,5 млрд руб., EBITDA — на 73% до 35,4 млрд руб., а чистая прибыль — на 88% до 22,5 млрд руб. Высокие финансовые показатели «ФосАгро» в 2011 году были обусловлены ростом цен на продукцию и объемов продаж как фосфорсодержащих, так и азотных удобрений.

В 2011 году объемы производства и продаж фосфорсодержащих удобрений выросли на 6%, что доказывает успешность реализации стратегии органичного роста. В ее основе — увеличение объемов переработки собственного апатитового концентрата для производства фосфорсодержащих удобрений — аммофоса и диаммофоса, а также комплексных удобрений. В конце 2011 — начале 2012 гг. гибкая производственная модель позволила нам перейти с производства диаммофоса на выпуск комплексных удобрений, удовлетворяя требования меняющейся конъюнктуры рынка и добиваясь более высокой рентабельности. Этому способствовало завершение модернизации четвертой производственной линии «Аммофоса», в результате чего мощности по производству комплексных удобрений достигли 1,7 млн тонн в год. По сравнению с прошлым годом объемы производства и продаж комплексных удобрений увеличились на 28,5% и 27,3% соответственно.

В 2011 году капитальные затраты составили 16,8 млрд руб. Мы продолжали осуществлять программу модернизации на ОАО «Череповецкий «Азот» и ООО «Балаковские минеральные удобрения». Значительные средства были вложены в строительство нового карбамидного производства мощностью 500 тыс. тонн в год на «Череповецком «Азоте». Мы намерены завершить данный проект в запланированные сроки — в мае-июне 2012 года.

Перспективы

В 2012 году вовлечение рекордных посевных площадей и благоприятная конъюнктура на рынках сельхозпродукции будут способствовать дальнейшему росту спроса на удобрения. Мы полагаем, что благодаря вертикальной интеграции «ФосАгро» в полной мере сможет извлечь выгоду из роста цен на свою продукцию за счет сведения к минимуму влияния нестабильности цен на основные ресурсы.

В настоящее время мировые цены на сельхозпродукцию находятся на достаточно высоком уровне — так, только за последнюю декаду января 2012 года они выросли на 5%. Кроме того, власти Китая ввели серьезные ограничения на экспорт практически всех фосфорсодержащих удобрений, что также может оказать благоприятное влияние на мировые рынки и поддержать цены.

В 2012 году спрос на комплексные удобрения останется высоким, в то время как в первом полугодии объемы производства диаммофоса и аммофоса будут примерно на 20% ниже по сравнению с соответствующим периодом 2011 года. Учитывая существенный рост спроса на наши комплексные удобрения в отчетном периоде, мы рассчитываем добиться в 2012 году увеличения общего объема производства удобрений по сравнению с 2011 годом — в первую очередь благодаря гибкости производства и стратегии продаж.

Принимая во внимание богатую полезными элементами ресурсную базу ОАО «Апатит», мы стремимся увеличить прибыль акционеров в долгосрочной перспективе не только путем повышения объемов производства собственных фосфорсодержащих удобрений, но и за счет развития проектов по глубокой переработке апатит-нефелиновой руды для производства других продуктов, таких как фтористые соли.

Мы уверены, что стабильность и устойчивый рост бизнеса позволят нам по-прежнему соответствовать ожиданиям рынка и акционеров. Я бы также хотел, пользуясь возможностью, выразить благодарность руководству и всем сотрудникам Компании за их неоценимый вклад в развитие и успех «ФосАгро».



Максим Волков

Генеральный директор  
ОАО «ФосАгро»